Finally we can reveal details about our fifth album, Pinewood Smile, which is due for release on October 6th 2017 through Cooking Vinyl, and can be pre-ordered here.


  1.    All The Pretty Girls
  2.    Buccaneers Of Hispaniola
  3.    Solid Gold
  4.    Southern Trains
  5.    Why Don’t The Beautiful Cry?
  6.    Japanese Prisoner Of Love
  7.    Lay Down With Me, Barbara
  8.    I Wish I Was In Heaven
  9.    Happiness
  10.    Stampede Of Love

For your delectation you can hear the album opener ‘All The Pretty Girls’ right now, via all the usual streaming platforms. It’s also available for immediate download with pre-orders of the album.  You have pre-ordered the album already haven’t you?

If you haven’t then grab it from the store section.

The album will be released on CD, limited edition Deluxe CD (featuring four bonus tracks), Gatefold Heavyweight Vinyl, Cassette and in both Standard and Deluxe digital versions.

The additional deluxe formats contain the following tracks:

11.        Uniball
12.        Rack of Glam
13.        Seagulls (Losing My Virginity)
14.        Rock In Space

Addressing the forthcoming album Justin asks, somewhat rhetorically of the world at large,

“Why should anybody care? Because if you don’t, we’re fucked!! History will remember us as the apathetic generation who negligently ushered in a dreadful dystopian age that may or may not come to be known as ‘The Rise of the Arseclowns’. We cannot allow this to continue! You may not give a shit about Brexit or Trump, but PLEASE… give a shit about The Darkness otherwise the last bastion of cultural sensibility will fall and our airwaves will be polluted by meaningless pop purveyed by arseholes and morons… Oh wait!”

In addition to the cerebral treatise of ‘All The Pretty Girls’, the album boasts the swashbuckling ‘Buccaneers Of Hispaniola’, the expletive-strewn howl of frustration that is ‘Southern Trains’, the hugely emotional ‘Why Don’t The Beautiful Cry?’, the globally anthemic ‘Japanese Prisoner Of Love’, and the ode to pumping out smash hit after smash hit ‘Solid Gold’, which finds the band addressing the turbulent nature of the music industry and how they have enjoyed its flamboyant highs and spectacular lows.

Written in Putney, recorded in Cornwall and produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Adrian Bushby (Foo Fighters, Muse), the compositions have all the crucial elements of classic Darkness fare, but with added layers for the ears to peel away at… like a sonic onion but a lot tastier.

In addition to this wondrous news  there has been more progress on the documentary being created by world-renowned photographer and filmmaker Simon Emmett (Jay Z, Matt Damon, Helen Mirren). Until July 31st 2017 the film is garnering funding through Indiegogo, with a variety of exclusive pre-order items.

If that wasn’t enough we’ll be touring the new album throughout Europe and the UK from October through to December so grab your tickets from our the live dates section.

Keep smiling !!!